250th Engineer Combat Bn

Hello

It's not all that clear to me if the Topic Title or Topic description accurately describes the genesis of my interest. That is, will what is posted elicit useful information. As might be noticed, this is my first attempt, at posting on a site of this type, so please bear with me.

My research is currently focused on unit histories or any other informed sources that would shed some light on the 250th Engineer Combat Bn during the period 14 August 1943 to 8 December 1943. According to World War II Order of Battle reference book, Authored by Shelby L. Stanton, notes on page 574 that the 250th Engineer Combat Bn was formed on 23 July 1943 at Camp McCoy, Wisconson.

In the Camp McCoy newspaper, The Real McCoy dated 14 August 1943, an article titled 250th Engineers appeared on page 3. The McCoy article stated the "The 250th Engineer Combat Battalion has arrived" and further indicated that the Battalion was "a part of the 1109th Engineer Combat Group of the 17th Detachment, Second Army". The 250th Battalion was under the Command of Major Andrew J. Nehf. The Executive Officer was listed as Captain Joseph W. Wilson. Lt William V. Webb was Adjutant and S-1. The article went on to say that "the Companies of have a full complement of Officers"

A review of the Chronoligical Record of Military Service for Lt William V. Webb indicates that he was Adjutant from 1 June 1943 to 23 September 1943. From 24 September 1943 to 15 October 1943 his duties were that of Assistant Division Engineer (During this period Grade Status for Lt Webb changed on 6 October 1943 to Captain). Captain Webb's final Duty assignment was H/S Company Commander from 16 October 1943 to 8 December 1943. Captain Webb's next Duty assignment was the 168th Engineer Combat Bn.