114th Combat Engineers

My dad was a radio operator and photographer with the 114th Eng. Battalion in New Guinea. The 114th accompanied the 32nd Infantry, a unit from Michigan and Wisconsin. I have done considerable research on the 32nd and my dad's eng. battalion. The 114th was a National Guard Unit from Medford Mass. I have many negatives which I scanned of Camp Edwards, Bourne Mass, Australia and New Guinea. I am in touch with the Wisconsin War Museum who are interested in the photos. The photos are not documented so I was hoping the Museum might be able to identify people especially the portraits my dad took of medical personnel and officers. I checked with our Lawrence Light Guard of Mass. to see, if members were in New Guinea. The Medford Historical Society actually had documents from the Commander of the 114th. Nothing that helped me identify what I had for photos. I am a teacher in Falmouth Mass and research war in New Guinea every spare moment I have. Thank you

I am a teacher in Falmouth Mass and research war in New Guinea every spare moment I have.

Hi Janet. It's good that there are people around studying the more obscure theaters of the war. That was 3 year campaign so it was far from a minor theater, but its not one most Americans would even recognize as having happened at all. Sadly, there are many things about WWII that most people in America wouldn't recognize. >sigh<

A20BismarckSea.jpg

A U.S. A-20G bomber of the 3rd Attack Group bombs a Japanese merchant ship off New Guinea, March 1944.

Maj Todd O. USMC, Retired
Grandson of LTC John O'Brien

Hi Janet:

Happy to see your first post.

I will place info for you here this week. Wanted to try earlier today, but had a million things to do. I'm sure you know how that goes.

Welcome to the forum and happy hunting...

Marion J Chard
Proud Daughter of Walter (Monday) Poniedzialek
540th Engineer Combat Regiment, 2833rd Bn, H&S Co, 4th Platoon
There's "No Bridge Too Far"