Army M-1 Rifle

I found a note from 1943 . It said I shot a 142 with the M-1 Rifle. Anyone know if that is good , bad, or average. All I remember is laying down in prone position, faceing a large target that came out of the ground.. After each shot a small round marker would show were the hole was in the target.. My senior moment does not remember, how many shots or how far away the target was..

Art

Art, I have no knowledge of such things. Zero, nada, zilch. Maybe you could ask your 101st buddies next time you meet. - Marilyn

Marilyn,

Best I could find was from "RECONELL" the following

If I remember correctly(?),...

140 and over qualified as Marksman.

160 and over qualified as Sharpshooter.

180 and over qualified as Expert.

After zeroing all weapons as best as possible,

all qualifications were fired at:

100 yards - Standing Position (8 rounds)

200 yards - Kneeling & Squating Positions (16 rounds)

300 yards - Kneeling & Squating Positions (16 rounds

500 yards - Prone Position (8 rounds)

The Maximum Score attainable or: "Firing The Max"

or firing; "A Possible" was shooting a 240 out of a possible 240.

Art

Geeze Art; You say you shot 142 that day. Do you know how many survived.

Myself, I had better luck the day I shot for record. They marched us out to this Texas desert, emptied the sand out of the gun barrels, and with no prior practice, told us to see what we could do. WELL, I won three medals that day. One for the carbine, one for the 45, and one for the thompson. They were the prettiest purple you ever did see. Along with my three purple ribbons, E.T.O. ribbon, and good conduct medal, they gave me my most prized of all. THE RUPTURED DUCK.

Gotta go now. But later on, I would like to tell you how all of our training that day prepared us for the days to come

Sorry Art, for taking that shot at you. All in fun. besides I probably missed as I did back then

chucktoo