Penzeys Spices call for "grilling vets" - gets response from WWII veteran

I buy all my spices from a company called Penzeys. Here's a note from them:

=====================================================================================

This email arrived just two hours after we sent out our call for grilling Vets. Our spices are pretty good, but our customers are where the real value of our business lives. Knowing some of you might want to share this, we've entered the Facebook age to make that possible. —Bill

Bill,
Your request brings back memories of over 70 years ago. I am a 91 year old Vet from WWII living in Arizona, but still cooking. My wife passed on some 8 years ago (and boy do I miss her cooking) so the grill and stove have become a favorite companion. In fact my social life is dependent upon my ability to share that ability with others.
Going back to 1944, and the Landing in France, to the ending of the war in Europe, our Gun Crew (18 Guys) were a Mobile Crew with Anti-aircraft and ground support for the Infantry, moving almost daily as the need would be required for our type of fire power. We did not have access to the normal food chain, thus requiring us to shift for ourselves.
We did receive C- Rations, but you can well imagine how that was received. It became a real problem, requiring it to be addressed if we were to stay healthy and a fighting unit. As we were in the countryside, traveling over farm land, most of the time that became our food source. The French Farmers and Land supplied a wide selection of food. It only had to be cooked and moved with us. At first it was crude, Fire pit with pots and pans.
Doesn’t work for a bunch of hungry guys. We needed a better solution. We had chickens, rabbits, farm veggies, so we worked out a makeshift gill. Helped some. Then we found (in an old French barn) a wood stove covered in dust, but an answer to our need.