387th Engineer Battalion in Italy

Greetings to all users of this site !!!!!!!!!!

I have been using this fine site for several years as a resource for various research projects into U.S. Army engineer units which served in Italy during WWII. 

My father, Frazier Savage, served in the H&S Company of the 316th ECB (91st INF DIV) from AUG 1943 thru the unit's inactivation at Camp Rucker (AL) in NOV 1945. Afterwards, he was assigned to the engineering section of 1st Army HQ, which was then based at Fort Bragg (NC) but subsequently relocated to Fort Jay (NY) in JUN 1946. In 1948, my dad attended Army Intel School and then joined the Attache' Section of the Pentagon to which he remained assigned until his retirement in 1970 after an Army career of just over 30 years.

In keeping with the stoicism of many men of his generation, my dad spoke little of his wartime experiences. He unfortunately passed away not long after retirement and before I was mature enough to show real interest or ask meaningful questions about his experiences in the Army. After raising my own kids and seeing them stand on their own feet as adults, I found myself yearning to understand my own father's history, and ... thanks to the miracle of the internet, plus a little luck and the help of many like-minded people ... I have learned a lot. 

In my research, and owing to the fact that I am an engineer by trade myself, I have developed a broad interest in the amazing accomplishments of US Army engineer units during WWII and I have been collecting original vintage photos of engineering projects underway in Italy. At this time, I have decided that this site will be a good place to share some of my photos, which leads me to the topic of this thread.