167th Engineers - Alfred Pappalardo

I have an amazing story (well at least it's amazing to me). I am delighted to share this with you. Talk about coincidences... :armata_PDT_01: This is a letter I sent to the webmaster of the 167th Engineers.

Hi:

Was talking to one of my customers in my country store this morning (Alger, MI), and a gentleman who I had met before brought his return bottle slip to the counter. I looked down and saw the number 540. I said out loud, "That was my dad's unit in WWII". The gentleman looked at me and stated, "I was with the 167th. I was a combat engineer." Wow, "So was my father. He was a 540th Combat Engineer", and the conversation carried on.

We talked about where they both were and started discussing crossing the Rhine. I just happened to have an article published in Army Engineer Magazine this month, and showed him the front cover, a bridge over the Rhine. Told him I had a website and was producing a documentary on "my boys". He stated there was a book on his unit, but he wasn't sure where one could be procured. I asked him his name and company and he said he was Alfred Pappalardo, Co B. I told him I would get on the Internet and do some fishing after he left. He said he would be back in two weeks.

Well I found your site and I found his name in the Co B rosters. He will be SO THRILLED. Thus, I am writing to you today. I will pass along the info to him the next time I see him. I will also get his address and phone number too. Too bad I didn't do that this morning. I look forward to hearing from you, and I shall place your website link on mine in a couple of minutes.

Warmly, Marion J Chard Proud Daughter of Walter (Monday) Poniedzialek

540th Combat Engineer

www.6thcorpscombatengineers.com

Here's the correspondence I received this a few days later and the attachment too. Ain't this great? :drinkin:

Hi Marion -