Good news

This letter from a M/Sgt in Iraq was posted on Patriot Files forum, and I believe

what he has to say will bring a lump to your throat as it did mine.

There is good news out there

Did you hear the good news in Iraq today? My guess is no.

It is no secret that good news is no news, especially when news sells. So who wants to buy good news when you can get bad news for free? Think about it. Is the media to blame? If so, why? The media sells news, the public buys news.

I’ll make it easy for you. I have good news from Iraq, and it’s free!

My name is Ricky Fitzgerald. I’m a master sergeant in the Air Force, and I work as a Combat Camera videographer, stationed at Charleston Air Force Base, S.C. I have a story to tell, but be warned; it may shock you -- it’s all good news.

Let me first lay down a little disclaimer and maybe some bias. I love my country, I love our military, and I love the people who serve in it. I have never met finer friends than those I have served with during the past 18 years.

I arrived here in Iraq in early January, just two months ago. Like most members of the military arriving here, I was a little scared, a little disoriented and a little unsure about what was going to happen next and who it was going to happen to. Why wouldn’t I be? I watch the same news you do. I have seen things I would rather not see -- sad things, sad people and sad situations that seem to have no end in sight.

My purpose here is not to hide or downplay the obvious: people are dying here every day. Out of respect for our fallen brothers and sisters who selflessly laid down their lives for something they believed in, I think the public, especially the families of those who have fallen in this foreign land, deserve to know the truth about what is really going on 90 percent of our time over here. I’m writing this to tell you exactly what I have seen, not what I have watched or read on the news, and not what I have heard in daily briefings.