Forums

Full Version: 1937th Engineer Composite Co.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Hello, I'm a new member, so first want to say what a great site this is.A wealth of information like this must require lots of time and work.The discharge

and separation papers of my Dad state that he served in the Pacific theater in a company called the 1937th Engineer Composite Co.I have not been able

to find much on the internet, just a couple of obits for other soldiers who were in same company.I am new to this subject, and my Dad never would talk

much about it. I was hoping that someone who has been doing research for a while might know something.Dad's name was Johnnie F. Lee, service number

38 369 911. Separation papers say that he was inducted Jan 15,1943 in Abilene, Tx..Active service date Jan 22, 1943. His departure date was June 15, 1943

and arrived in Australia July 19, 1943. Dad was a heavy equipment operator. The 1947th was not formed until sometime in 1944, but at it's formation was attached to the 5th Army Air Force for the duration of the war.The company name changed a couple times to 1947th Engineer Service Co., and then to 1937th Engineer

Aviation Utilities Co. Since this company was not formed until 1944, Dad was in Australia for some time before that. Doing what for whom I have not a clue, tho

I could guess he was working on landing strips. I sent a query to the Center for Military History, and the reply I got will follow. That is about all the hard facts that I have

for the moment,but I will continue. Thanks for your time, Frank Lee.

Mr. Lee -- We're sorry about your loss. This Center doesn't maintain
operational records or unit rosters, but information available indicates
that the 1937th Engineer Composite Company was activated 15 August 1944 in
New Guinea. It would appear as if the unit supported the Fifth Air Force