Forums

Full Version: dilemma of the 87th Inf Div
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

This (the first two letters) were provided to me by James Hennessey, member of the 87th Inf Div. Other letters are provided after to show what was trying to be accomplished by the men this unit.

--------------------------------------------

87th Vets:

If we have to beg for an award due us, for our service in Belgium in WW2. As for me I say they can stuff it, it hurts me to say this, but I am a proud 87th Vet. I know what we done in the War in Belgium, that is good enough for me.

Thanks to all of you 87th vets for your efforts in this matter.

I Remain Stalwart And Strong

Jim H--E-345

Stay Well -Enjoying Your Freedom-Thank A Veteran

-------------------------

Inasmuch as our great Belgian friend Gilbert Stevenot reports that the Belgian Army files cannot be reopened at such a late date, this closes the long and ultimately unsuccessful attempt to correct a clerical error made in 1945 by the US War Department.

It was not a lack of trying that failed us--it was a bureaucratic matter, and the bureaucracy failed. Now it'll be up to individual consciences to decide whether to buy the fouragerre from some on-line or neighborhood store, or do without it.

In terms of clear entitlement, there is not a single history in either English or French that excludes the vital and valorous 87th Div role in the BoB. Additionally, we have biographies written by two of our top generals, Patton and Middleton, to establish our entitlement. Extraordinarily, even a German general, Gen. Remer, paid high tribute to our role.