Forums

Full Version: A Christmas that wasn't Christmas
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Christmas 1944 - Battle of the Bulge

A Christmas That Wasn't Christmas

by May A. Alm

Nurse, 104th Evac. Hospital

3rd Army, European Theater

What was I doing on December 25, 1944?

The setting was in Luxembourg and I was a nurse in the 104th Evac Hospital. The day was cloudy and bitter cold. The ground was frozen and covered with snow. There was a feeling of foreboding. I was in the middle of a war!

Earlier in the month, a cadre from our unit, which was then based in Nancy, France, had been sent to seek out a site near Metz. Then, on December 16th, the word came of the German last ditch stand in the Ardennes.

Our unit arrived in Luxembourg late in the day, around 4pm, on Christmas Eve having been transported by convoy from Nancy. As usual, the nurses rode in the ambulances. Later on, rumor had it that a vehicle had been blown up on the way but it was never confirmed.

As soon as we arrived, the setup began immediately as the casualties came pouring in. Our setup didn't take long to be in full operation! We were extremely busy caring for the wounded. Rest was forgotten. There were no helicopter deliveries - only ambulances and litters strapped to jeeps to carry the wounded. The receiving area, triage, was soon inundated and surgery became a very busy place. Alone with three wonderful corpsmen, we kept the gas-fired autoclaves running constantly so necessary supplies were kept ready for the surgeons as they donned their "beanies" and rubber gloves to repair the various wounds. Belly wounds, face wounds, and amputations took priority.